Polls to 12 UP legislative council seats to be held on Jan 28: Election Fee

Polls to 12 legislative council seats in Uttar Pradesh getting vacant later this month and bypolls to 2 legislative council seats in Bihar and one in Andhra Pradesh might be held on January 28, the Election Fee stated on Wednesday.

Twelve seats within the UP legislative council are getting vacant on January 30 because the time period of the members is coming to an finish. One of many 12 members is Nasimuddin Siddiqui, who already stands disqualified.

The 12 members can be elected by members of the legislative meeting (MLAs) within the biennial elections.

The MLCs who’re retiring embrace Swatantra Dev Singh, Dinesh Sharma and Laxman Acharya (BJP), Naseemuddin Siddiqui (disqualified), Dharmavir Ashok and Pradip Jatav (BSP), and Ahmed Hasan, Ashu Malik, Ramesh Yadav, Ram Jatan Rajbhar, Virendra Singh and Sahib Singh Saini (SP).

Bypolls to 2 Bihar legislative council seats had been necessitated following the election of BJP chief Sushil Modi to Rajya Sabha just lately and election of Vinod Narain Jha to the state legislative meeting within the recently-held Bihar elections.

In Andhra Pradesh, the legislative council bypoll was necessitated following the resignation of Pothula Sunitha in November final 12 months.

All of the elections and by-elections can be held on January 28 and counting of votes might be held one hour after the completion of polls as per established apply.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *