BJP chief Dayashankar Tiwari elected new Nagpur Mayor

SENIOR BJP chief and corporator Dayashankar Tiwari was elected the brand new Nagpur mayor on Tuesday. BJP chief Manisha Dhawade was elected his deputy in an one-sided contest.

Tiwari defeated Ramesh Punekar of the Congress, who may ballot solely 27 votes towards Tiwari’s 107 within the 151-member Nagpur Municipal Company (NMC).

The BJP, which is ruling NMC for the third consecutive time period, enjoys a brute majority of 107.

Tiwari, a top-notch debater throughout his college days who is thought for his nice oratorial abilities, will probably be mayor for the subsequent 15 months earlier than NMC goes to polls in 2022.

Dhawade bagged 107 votes towards 26 votes gained by Congress’ Rashmi Dhurve.

The election was necessitated following the resignation of Tiwari’s predecessor Sandeep Joshi on December 21, a couple of fortnight earlier than his 15-month time period was to finish on January 6. Joshi had resigned following his defeat within the Nagpur Graduates’ Constituency Legislative Council elections final month, and had mentioned he was resigning proudly owning ethical duty for the defeat.

Joshi’s tenure was marked by controversies comparable to his face-off with former municipal commissioner Tukaram Mundhe, mentioned to be the explanation behind Mundhe’s exit from the town inside seven months of taking on as civic chief.

In line with political pundits, the run-in with Mundhe was one of many components that went towards Joshi within the Legislative Council elections.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *